PB Jam Leggings

full length view

I took a break from my sock knitting to make up some new leggings.  They’re the new PB Jam Leggings Pattern from Melissa at Fehrtrade.

Although they were designed to be made from Lycra with a good amount of stretch and recovery, I decided to make them from some Pointe ( Double jersey) that I had.  To allow for the less stretchy fabric I made the small instead of the xs. They fit pretty well – The only adjustment I had to make was at the center back seam:

legging alteration

They look like they’ve been made for a curvier behind than I have! – so I just pinned the amount needed and then trimmed the seam allowance back.  I stitched them together with a narrow zig zag instead of using my overlocker.   If I was to make a second pair I would use the overlocker, but I wanted to be able to unpick the seams easily if needed.  Thankfully the hip  and legwidth fitted fine, as the contrast panel (see below) would make it difficult to alter at the sewing up stage.

side leg close up

I’m not a jogger right now ( unless running after kids counts?!!) so I can’t say how they’d compare to lighter lycra for exercising.  But, as a pair of easy to wear leisure pants , they do just fine.  Melissa has compiled a long list of exercise fabric suppliers on her site which is very handy to have if you like to make your own exercise gear.

The rest of the week I was working on my second pair of socks – no one warned me of the addictive dangers of sock knitting! They won’t be ready for another day or two , but I’ve already started thinking about my third pair…….

8 thoughts on “PB Jam Leggings

  1. Your PB leggings look great – I am yet to make up Melissas top pattern that I bought weeks ago.
    Socks truly are addictive. Have you tried ‘toe-up’ yet? They are really great to knit and no grafting!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by too Kim:) I have been thinking of getting Melissa’s top pattern – but I’ve a long list of makes to get through first:) I’ve actually saved a few toe-up socks on ravelry – I think I might use a dk pattern as I’m quite slow with 4ply sock yarn!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)