A tale of three hats …

Hats are a great way to use up leftover yarn from jumpers, and to try out new techniques without wasting too much time if you don’t end up liking the final result.

 

wpid-20141116_140550-1.jpg

Wurm Hat, made with leftovers from two cardigans.

 

This is my Wurm Hat – made with a very popular free pattern available on Ravelry.  I used aran yarn, leftover from my Miette Cardigan and my Myrna cardigan.  It has a nice thick band, made in the same way as a folded hem.  The ridges give it plenty of stretch to fit over heavy curls, or to fit different sized heads.  A very easy make that would be great for a quick present.

 

The next hat was made without any pattern – I made a guess at how many stitches after a quick swatch. Because I was using ribbing, it would be stretchy enough to make up for my lack of prep! I used fisherman’s rib* for about five inches – it’s the nicest squishiest rib – little pockets of air to add warmth to your hat.

_20151212_125234

 

I held two shades of grey sock yarns and treated them as one, so it gave a lovely marled grey effect to the hat.

_20151212_125106
There was a real difference in the warmth of this hat, and I’d recommend using sock yarn or something with wool for hats. The acrylic one above (Wurm Hat) was good to keep out the cold, but a hat with wool will hold in the heat much more effectively, and without being clammy.

_20161016_112049

I changed to a basket weave pattern and decreased a few stitches for a couple of rounds before gathering all the remaining stitches to close the crown.

 

lake hat

A seriously glassy lake in Killarney. (My scarf was made on my knitting machine – using black acrylic mixed with a colourful sock yarn)

 

The photo above was taken on a lovely day in November, I had a little time to kill so I sat by the lake knitting my red jumper.  The stone wall I was sitting on was freezing, so I took my hat off and sat on it instead – It was bizarre how warm it felt, completely insulating me from the cold stone!

 

The third hat in this tale was also made with the same grey yarns held double –

_20151212_125131

This was a beret shape – I cast on using a little guesswork again. I then worked it for a few inches, trying it on all the time.

_20151212_125150

When I reached the crown, I placed markers, roughly dividing the circumference by five, and then decreased at the markers every few rows.  I had every intention of writing the pattern as I was going along, but I just got carried away, with how quickly it was coming together!

If you’ve gotten this far you might want to hear the twist in the tale… ?

The one thing these hats have in common is that I have lost ALL THREE OF THEM!!! Seriously.. no idea where or when.  They all got worn for about three months each, before being abandoned or lost who-knows-where! I hope that someone, somewhere is enjoying them… as for me – I could get ahead of myself and knit some more in time for next winter..!

*Fishermans rib – similar to brioche stitch. For a video and pdf tutorial see newStitchaDay

9 thoughts on “A tale of three hats …

  1. Ack! I lose hats, too. In fact I was convinced that I had lost my second aran one that I made after I lost the first but fortunately I was simply having a forgetful moment and I had left it at home. I love the fisherman’s rib and am going to copy the second and third hats when I get a chance. Just super. Love both. The scarf is very pretty, too, as us the first hat.

  2. It’s so frustrating to lose something you’ve made! I kept hoping they’d reappear in a cupboard or basket, but no such luck. I hope you get a chance to make one – the second hat was my favourite and I plan to remake it soon, as I still have the yarn.

  3. I love the use of the 2 yarns together to give a marl effect. I had never heard of the Fisherman’s rib before, I’ll have to look that one up. Hoping that you do find the hats one day….

  4. I’m the same – I always order a bit of yarn extra for security, and then I if I don’t need it I can make a cute matching hat. Last night I was swatching Saudade with some leftover scraps from a cardi. Your hats are so lovely, what a shame you lost all of them! 😦

    • I just found Saudade on ravelry – it looks perfect for using up mixed colours. I did get a lot of wear from the hats before they were lost, and on the brightside… it’s an opportunity to make more hats!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

