I pink it might be summer….

At least I’m pretty sure it was summer …we swam in the sea and used sunscreen for the first two days of this week…..but right now it’s raining heavily on my wetsuit that I left outside to dry!!

I’m happy to say that I made it outdoors before the rain to photograph my new top –
_20160720_223718

 

Made using Simplicity 2599 – I also used the same pattern here and here. On my first version of this pattern I straightened the shoulder slope to match my shoulders, and it’s now my favourite pattern for a quick make.

pink2

 

For this top I rotated the bust dart to sit horizontally across the centre bust ,and left the extra  drape that this created at the lower front, so that it is pretty loose-fitting
from the bust down. There is a useful explanation of rotating a dart on Megan Nielsen’s blog .

 

I stitched the dart from the right side so that it would add a bit of interest to a pretty plain

IMG_20160519_8779

 

The fabric is a very lightweight cotton that was cut from an old dress that didn’t fit anymore. The armholes and neck edge are finished with bias strips and the side seams are french seamed.

It’s good to finally have some sewing to show. I’ve also pulled out a few UFO’s to finish… does anyone remember this dress? After seeing a lovely orange version made up on Catherine Daze’s blog, I went back to my blue version – and now it’s almost done , so fingers crossed that I can get outside on a dry day for some pictures!

xc

12 thoughts on “I pink it might be summer….

  1. I like the interesting dart on the pink top – I want to play around with darts more, when I get time. I want to try some of those neckline pleats. I am looking forward to seeing the Burda dress on you. I bet it will look great.

    • Thanks Kate. I’d like to do more dart manipulation too. Now that you’ve got a well-fitting bodice block it should help you along. I liked your piece on Samantha Cameron as we have some similarities with our straight figures.

    • Thanks Stephanie, I don’t think I’d cope too well with a heatwave- I don’t mind the rain as long as we get sunny days in between! Despite the rain, it is still warm,so I should just do the same as my younger brother and go swimming anyway! He and his friends were heading to a local Cove to swim yesterday evening, not letting a light shower get in the way of fun!

  2. what a lovely top, I love the simplicity of it and that it has become a favourite of yours. Also, I love french seams and making my own bias binding…perhaps I need to investigate this pattern!

    On 22 July 2016 at 00:11, make & wear – sewing-knitting-making wrote:

    > Chris @ makeandwear posted: “At least I’m pretty sure it was summer …we > swam in the sea and used sunscreen for the first two days of this > week…..but right now it’s raining heavily on my wetsuit that I left > outside to dry!! I’m happy to say that I made it outdoors before the ra” >

  3. I like your top, and particularly your treatment of the dart. It is raining here for the first time in ages but is still very warm.
    It’s useful having the rain when you hang your wetsuit outside – saves having to rinse them off. More sewing time 😃

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

