Finally Finished – Chunky Cardi

Since I last posted, I did manage to find my needles and finish my Chunky Cardigan …..

IMG_20160321_2930

 

So far it has only been worn a couple of times.  It’s cosy, but it feels like the neckline needs a bit more height, or a collar maybe.  I made the sleeves extra long as always, to cover my freakishly long arms! I’ve noticed my long-sleeved tees wear out at the cuffs from my constant tugging at them, so I always make sure to add extra length to any tops.

 

IMG_20160321_3126

Extra-long sleeves are my favourite ! 

 

As far as my knitting goes, I’ve only just started to get a good idea of what I should be making for myself.  I prefer looser styles, and although I have avoided knitting with light weight yarns, I think I would get more wear out of lighter knits that could be layered up. So that’s what I’m going to focus on if I ever get time to knit again!

 

 

16 thoughts on “Finally Finished – Chunky Cardi

  1. This all sounds very exciting and your cardigan is lovely. Love the long sleeves! It’s funny…I got in the habit of knitting with fingering weight yarns and now I tend to only use those..habit, really, rather than preference. Finer sweaters can be useful for layering, but cozy sweaters are great, too.

      • I know exactly what you mean. I have the abandonment problem with knitting, too. If I don’t have clear, persistent momentum the garment ends up languishing in a bag!

  2. I didn’t imagine that virtuoso knitters like you and Stephanie would leave knitting unfinished. I thought it was just novices like me. I wonder what you might be able to do to create more neck hight or a collar. Anyway I think sewing is such a great antidote to other types of work – business, IT, building sites – whatever. If I had to sew for a living I don’t think I would ever make anything for myself.

    • I think all knitters are susceptible to the odd Ufo! The lure of casting on something new can be a distraction. Very true that sewing is an antidote to other work – and I know from experience that sewing for others means losing the enjoyment of it!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

