Happy New Year

Happy New Year to everyone,  I hope your 2016 is off to a good start.  My year is off to a very slow start, I spent the first week mostly sleeping as I had the flu. In a positive light, maybe I’m just getting any illness out of the way early!

Being confined to bed, I thought it would be a good time to work on any unfinished knitting – like this cardigan I started in August:

 

IMG_20160102_44291

The safety pins are holding it together so I could try it on!

 

It’s a chunky knit, made with 10mm needles and Byzantum Double chunky yarn. The pattern is from an old Woman’s Weekly Magazine:

 

IMG_20160102_44856

 

The reason it sat unfinished for so long, was that I thought I’d lost the pattern. It turns out that I had put it away safely inside a large book on knitting….and then forgot completely! But now I’ve lost the needles I was using……ffs!  So while I try to remember which safe place they’re hiding in, I started an embroidery…….

 

 

IMG_20160102_44540

Yep it’s a cut-up shirt…..times are tough!

It’s ages since I hand embroidered anything, but I have a ton of embroidery transfers from old magazines (this elephant must be twenty years old!)

So that’s my New Year off to a thrifty start, I look forward to seeing what everyone else makes this year. xx

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Poor you! Hope your energy is resurfacing! How wonderful that you turned this into a opportunity to try something different. I love hand stitching, it is more transportable than dressmaking! and it is delightful at a more leisurely pace than machine stitching. – that elephant looks wonderful! i

    • Thank you – today is the first day that I feel close to normal energy, glad to be up and about again! Handstitching is like knitting in that it’s so easy to pick up and go, the Elephant is coming along nicely 🙂

  2. Pingback: Finally Finished – Chunky Cardi | make & wear – sewing-knitting-making

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

