Lisette dress continued

Hi there πŸ™‚ Sewing for myself has taken a backseat lately… We’ve been lucky with the weather here the last few weeks. Irish summers are always unpredictable, so if the sun comes out then I rush to the beach. Blogging has taken an even bigger back seat!

Before I share some pics, I want to thank Kate at Fabrickated for the recent blog award she passed on to me and some others, I’m chuffed to have been included!

I hadn’t been in a hurry to finish my red Lisette dress…. until a party invite came along….. So Saturday morning I launched into finishing and had everything ready in time for Saturday night. Nothing like a deadline to speed things up!

image

At last posting my front bodice was almost complete –

image

Inside front bodice

The bodice is sandwiched between the waist and waist lining, which encloses the bodice lower edge –

image

image

The sewalong instructions show the back neckline finished with bias tape.
I used my lining pieces instead.

I caught the shoulder seams between the bodice back and the bodice back lining – and stitched across the neckline and shoulder in one go…..

image

Which looks quite neat after turning and pressing

image

I then tacked the bodice lining to the back bodice and treated it as a single piece from there on.

The sleeves were hemmed by stitching to the lining with right sides together –

image

Then pressing seams towards lining and understitching. I pinned in the zip and the sleeve and side seams were then pinned to the bodice to check the fit.

image

Before sewing and overlocking raw edges-
image

image

After that it was a matter of seaming the skirt and skirt lining, before attaching to the bodice, photos of which I’ll share soon :-)…. depending on the weather!

7 thoughts on “Lisette dress continued

  1. It looks just great Chris. In the photograph you almost appear to have wings. I agree that an event is just the job for forcing you to finish a project. Looking forward to seeing some more notes on the construction, which is very professional. Well done.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I had originally started it for a family party, and when that deadline passed, I lost interest. So I’m glad to have gotten a kick to finish it! I hadn’t noticed the wings!!

  2. What a gorgeous dress, I like the details you have used! I am using this pattern as the basis for a Vintage adaptation so it has been great to take a peek at yours. I was hoping to spend some time on my toile this weekend, but good weather is so difficult to miss!

    Enjoy your weekend x

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

