Textured top – Feb Burdastyle 02/2015

image

I put my blue skirt aside to work on a quick make – again from the February Burdastyle Magazine – it’s the cropped top style 127

image

image

Cropped top… No thanks…. I’d freeze! The sun might have appeared the last few days… but it’s still an Irish spring! So I lengthened mine – 4cm above the dart and another 7cm onto the hem.

image

I had traced this at the same time as my blue skirt. (… Which btw I have started to like again – pockets are in progress).

I used french seams on the sides and shoulders. And then overlocked and turned back the armhole seam.

image

I bound the neckline and continued it into a button loop at the back neck:

image

I quite like the shaped armhole seam, which I topstitched down-

image

I used a lightweight fabric that isn’t very drapey – not surprising since this isn’t apparel fabric! It’s cut from a curtain voile remnant.
I thought it was sticking out too much at the back, so instead of closing the centre back, I added a thread chain and two buttons –

image

image

I’m wearing it with along sleeve top underneath, but it looks quite nice on it’s own too…. when it’s warmer maybe!

16 thoughts on “Textured top – Feb Burdastyle 02/2015

  1. This looks really classy – using an unusual fabric has really helped make this top much nicer than the Burda picture which is neither one thing nor another, in my view. And I really like the styling – great necklace and shades of black and grey. Very fetching – nicely done.

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

