Jan Burdastyle – 107 01/2015

Just in time….. I finished my top from the Jan Burdastyle Magazine. Everyone commenting agreed that it needed the pocket, so that stayed put:

image

I’m wearing a black top underneath, so the neckline shape looks like a triangle – but it’s actually the bound split as per the pattern:

image

I cut a size 34 ( I’m closer to a 36 with burdastyle but didn’t want it to be too big). It fits well, its cosy, and I’ve been wearing it all day…but… I’m not overly keen on the way the drop shoulders look.

image

These are the most flattering of the pictures to be honest. When I see this in the mirror I want to change the shoulders. So, we’ll see – it might get reworked. Because I really like the loose boxy style.

I’m also pretty happy with the high-low hem that Dawn suggested :

image

Not scratching my head here...!

Speaking of reworking… I took a seam ripper to my shirtsdress. I had worn it twice, but found the belt/sleeves a bit bulky under jackets so I removed them:

image

I also tweaked the back waist a little so that it would sit better against the curve of my back:

image

So next for the Burdastyle challenge….? I bought the Feb issue of Burdastyle this week and have my mind set on this skirt:

image

Skirt 109 Burdastyle 02/2015

I loved the pleats at the front and the large pockets. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it’s a wrap skirt!

image

It’s always good to have a bit of wiggle room with a skirt waist 🙂

I’ll leave it there for tonight – apart from one last look at the top ( which I only just realised – unintentionally fits with the whole Jungle January theme I keep seeing on blogs ! ! )

image

6 thoughts on “Jan Burdastyle – 107 01/2015

  1. I loved the earlier shirt dress, but at the end of the day it has to fit and be comfortable so I think these alterations are sensible and it still looks really sensational and different. And great choice of the wrap skirt with big pockets. I love this style. What fabric/colour do you have in mind Chris?

    • I was glad I changed the shirt dress- it looks lovely with a thin belt and dark brown boots. As for my skirt -I can’t decide if it should be boring black or navy or something printed and fun. The sewing is always the easy part:)

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

