Star Star… *

star 1

Silver crepe 8 point star

A Makezine link popped up in my Facebook news feed the other day for some cardboard star decorations, and I couldn’t wait to give them a go.  It’s for an Origami Star Holiday Decoration.  If you’re looking for a quick Christmas craft to do yourself or with kids… give it a go!

I didn’t have any cardboard to hand, so I took the bag of cereal out of the cornflake box and used that! It gave me flashbacks to my childhood.   We used to watch the programme ‘How do you do?’ a craft show on RTE( Irish Tv channel) –  and, afterwards I’d empty every food packet in the house to get useable cardboard!! My poor mother had a lot to put up with.!  I remember some days we would have to ring my dad at work and beg him to bring home some pipe cleaners for the next ‘make & do’ project we’d just seen the presenter Mary FitzGerald create.  ( One of my earliest career ambitions was to have Mary Fitzgerald’s’ job when I grew up !)

The star above was made with cardboard with some silver crepe paper stuck onto the square before I started folding and sticking.

The black ones are made from some light craft card:

blk & grey 3

 

 

Which we then covered with some silver snowflakes ( meant to be used as table confetti!)

blk & silver

 

 

Then I took some crumpled gift wrap from the recycling pile – ( and crumpled it some more! ) before sticking it to another cardboard square and then turning it into a star!

foil star

 

And finally a group shot! –

all stars

The 8 – point star was made by sticking one star on top of the other!

star 2

** In case you’re wondering – while typing in the title, I was reminded of one of my favourite songs

from Irish band The Frames,  called ‘Star Star’ ……enjoy!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

