PR Sewing Bee – Round 3 entry

sleeve close up

 

I’m a little late with my update on the Pattern Review Sewing Bee.  I think I needed a break from writing about sewing after the detailed reviews needed for the contest!

For Round 3, the 25 remaining contestants were given a free copy of The Winter Street Dress from Pattern Review.  The task was to make a version of the dress using only two stretch fabrics and some embellishments (& some creativity!).  At first glance at the pattern I thought it had cut-on sleeves.  It turns out the illustration is not to be believed, as it has set-in sleeves (thankfully less altering for my square/straight shoulders!). The bodice also sits pretty high on this pattern so I added 1 1/2″ to the bodice length before cutting out.

I decided to embellish my dress with a technique that had been on my mind for some time – adding a crochet insert to the neckline and a cut-out shape at the back.

streetcollagePicsArt_1416948662673

Lace up sleeve and crochet details

 

 I used a black lycra to line the bodice and create the cut out detail in the back.  This also meant I could omit the neckline binding.  To crochet the insert, I first stitched around the opening with a buttonhole stitch, shown below:

buttonhole stitch

 

After that I just winged it as regard the crochet – It was a matter of crocheting in ever decreasing squares :

 

keyhole crochet progress

keyhole finished

 

For the sleeve lace up I first cut them in half vertically and interfaced the edges before sewing down and then hand stitching the lengths:

sleeves button stitched

They were then pinned to the original paper pattern piece and  laced up to the correct width with some yarn :

sleeve laceup

And then sewn in flat to the armholes as normal……..And here’s what it all looked like once completed :

street2PicsArt_1416949383496

front and back view

Not the best pictures as the light was bad ( hence the over exposure!) But it gives you the jist of how it all looked!

I did finish my round 3 dress in time, but didn’t get through to last 11 finalists unfortunately.  I was disappointed not to continue, but also a little relieved as it was tough going to get everything made and photographed in time!  After round 4, the overall winner was announced today and the prize went to Dawn who blogs here 🙂 The final prize was a very nice new machine!!

Overall it was good fun to take part and I’m amazed that I kept up with the deadlines!  Although it did hold up the finish of my knitting project ( remember The City Cape?) . Which I’m glad to say is now finished and has been worn plenty since. I’ll give a full run down as soon as I upload some photos:)

Ps – If you’d like to see my 3 full contest pattern reviews with links to extra process pictures they can be found if you click-through:

Round 1 A-Line Skirt

Round 2 Shirts Refashion

Round 3 Winter Street Dress

🙂 Chris

3 thoughts on “PR Sewing Bee – Round 3 entry

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

