Surprise Sewing Bee – I made it to round 2 !!

Phew, what a week! I haven’t sat at my laptop for long this week as I was working on my entry for round 2 of the Pattern Review Sewing Bee .  That’s right – last weeks A-Line skirt made it through yay!!  Which was fantastic…except it meant getting something else made in a hurry this week.  ( Using up to five mens shirts)

And this is what I came up with…..

My ShirtSdress !!

My ShirtSdress !!

 

And a few details….

Armholes used as pockets, Collar used on pocket edge

 

 

PicsArt_1416163693912

I used sleeves from on of the shirts as a waist tie

 

 

20141116_123254

Back view

 

I have some more in process pictures, but my brain is fried right now so I’ll do a separate post at a later stage! There are some very unique entries in the contest gallery, and I now think that I might have gone a little more “out there” with my make.   But there ya go, it’s done now….! In the meantime keep your fingers crossed that this passes with the judges….  Ps.. My entry can be seen in full on Pattern Review here.

8 thoughts on “Surprise Sewing Bee – I made it to round 2 !!

  1. So this is yours! It was my favourite by far. I especially loved the way the sleeves created a belt, the pockets and the colours. I hope you carry on working up these kind of ideas which are extremely creative and stylish. Would love more information on how you did this when you have more time. thanks!

    • Thanks Kate! I had great fun with this challenge – it was good having some restraints on both time and fabric options. It meant I had to just trust that I could make it work. I’ll round up the in progress pictures into a post in the new year 🙂

  2. Pingback: McCall’s M6696 Shirtdress, My Make for the ‘Made Up Initiative’. | cut it out, stitch it up!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

