Cheap & Cheerful ….. a new top from an old dress

Do you end up with bag-loads of other peoples clothes because they know you can sew?  I do!! No one ever sends their clothes to the charity shop without letting me have a look through first !! That’s how I came upon the dress pictured below on the left:

before & after

Old dress into new top

 

It was a dress that was no longer being worn and I was drawn to the bright colours on it.  The fabric was 100% cotton and I knew I might just squeeze a sleeveless top from it!  I used this Simplicity pattern ( which I’ve made up before )

simplicity 2599

Simplicity 2599

 

** just a little note if you plan to make this** – I cut mine about 5cm shorter than the pattern as I found it was a bit too long for my taste.

I started by checking if the pieces would fit using the lower portion of the dress:

1checking pattern

sizing up the front pattern piece

 

 

 

It was clear that the top would extend into the other panels on the dress – but the waist section was a heavier fabric that had piping so I wasn’t too keen to use it.  Instead I decided to patch together the pieces of the dress that I wanted to use. and avoid using the piped waistband piece.

I started by cutting apart the dress and the cut out the main back piece :

2

Back on fold

Which looked like so:4

I then added a dark blue strip along the top, stitching right side together and overlocking the seam:

5

And then finished cutting out the back piece:

6

7

I approached the front piece in a similar way, fitting as much as I could on the fabric:

9

Adding a piece to the shoulder:

10

How it looked after adding shoulder pieces:

11

I bound the neckline and armholes with bias fabric strips:

blue top armholes

It came together quickly and here’s the finished top!

front on hanger

with jeans

7 thoughts on “Cheap & Cheerful ….. a new top from an old dress

  1. I also get handed garments by friends to see if I can turn into something else, mostly skirts for my 6 year old, she loves that something has been ‘upcycled’.
    I love the pattern on the fabric.

    • Thanks Mrs Mole 🙂 I took this from a very large bag of old clothes that I had been keeping for too long! I ended up choosing a few pieces I really liked and sent the rest to charity shop. It felt good to reduce the size of my ‘must sew up’ pile!

  2. Pingback: Simplicity top 2599 – And an alternative way to sew a neck-facing. | make & wear

  3. Pingback: I pink it might be summer…. | make & wear – sewing-knitting-making

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

