Sewing success from a knit failure

Nothing to post yet on my efforts with my OAL Dress…. lots of interuptions to regular sewing !! But I’ve had some pictures ready to post with a while so here we go….
I’ve mentioned before that I own a pretty old Knitting Machine which I’m slowly teaching myself to use.   I have even made something very wearable!.  But before that there were quite a few wtf pieces that will never see the light of day ( or blog!).   But there is one such piece I am prepared to share, since I managed to salvage the remains!

 

I had gone all creative making a dropped stitch design on the front piece and using some black yarn on the back piece.  Here’s the before picture:

red jumper lge

wonky geansai – not even slightly wearable

 

The neckline is a mess, the hem is a mess, it hangs away from the body stiffly and the sleeves were pretty gross too!!

close up red jumper

oh dear…

 

I made alot of beginner mistakes on this one.  First up I didn’t make a swatch…. Big Mistake! I ended up with a sweater that was stiff instead of draping nicely.   I had knit it too tightly, but thought it would soften up in the wash.  It didn’t.

I also misjudged the sizing, so ended up with sleeves that were too wide at the top and just looked ugly. The neckline doesn’t bear mentioning, it was just wrong! But because I tried to fix my sweater by taking the sewing machine to the seams ( yep bad idea) I couldn’t unravel the yarn to be re-used.

I know…. a real learning curve ha!

I follow a great blog that has lots of info on sewing with sweater knits call Crafting Fashion.  The designer Olgalyn Jolly knits the most beautiful sweater fabric that she sells online.   So with a little courage that it might work , and knowing there was little to lose at this stage, I went for broke and cut it up to use as fabric…….!

 

I then cut apart a childs sweatshirt to use as my pattern ( it was stained beyond saving ).   It was a case of Bye Bye Kitty…..

cutting frnt

cutting sleeve

Using the sweatshirt sleeve as my pattern

 

 

And hello sweatshirt pieces:

all cut pieces

 

I used a strip of interfacing around all edges to stabilise them for sewing together:

stabilising seams

 

Then assembled the new child-sized sweatshirt

joining pieces

seam joining

Sewn and overlocked seams

 

I attached the sleeves flat and added cuffs of cotton ribbing:

sleeve bands

 

 

I also used cotton ribbing for the neckline and the waistband:

hem new

attaching waistband

 

 

neckband

Neckband was zig zagged then overlocked

 

new finished

 

closeup new

 

 

All that was left was to try it on its new owner :

red mk modelled

Finished sweatshirt

5 thoughts on “Sewing success from a knit failure

  1. Pingback: Beginner machine knitting – swatch it! | make & wear

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

