New Make – Nettie Bodysuit

nettie 1

I made myself a nettie πŸ™‚ And I’m pretty sure I’ll be making more!
I followed the sewalong posted on Closet Case Files blog for the most part. I used a different method for attaching the woven fabric to the crotch area. It’s the same method I use to cover the end of a zip. So I’m sharing it here as another option in case anyone is interested πŸ™‚

image

Fold crotch piece in half and half again and press

image

Pin right sides together to the front crotch piece and stitch

image

After stitching

image

Fold opposite side of cotton under

image

Then fold it back onto itself

image

Hold with a pin

image

Flip over and re pin ready to sew

image

Sew across both short ends of cotton as shown here and below

image

Short ends sewn - now trim down excess

image

Reach in and flip cotton right way out

image

Flipped over

image

Inside view

image

Attach snaps

image

Then slipstitch closed

image

Finished view of right side

5 thoughts on “New Make – Nettie Bodysuit

  1. Since you mentioned ‘nettie’ a few weeks back I’ve now see a few mentions of it. I like the colour, is it a cotton / lycra mix? Are you just sewing on overlocker and standard machine?

    • It’s been popping up on a few blogs alright. I loved bodysuits in the nineties! This is a cotton spandex . I overlocked and then zig zagged on regular machine. I’ll use twin needle if I make another I think.

  2. I too love to take my knitting (or crochet) along with me to parks etc. It makes the whole outing more enjoyable for everyone involved! πŸ˜‰ I love the colours that you have chosen.

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

