Completed – Hortencia Cardigan

 

I finished my Hortencia last week. And I really love it ( I think I say that about all my new knits!)  It was a real joy to knit.

Pattern can be found here Hortencia by Andi Satterlund  .

hortencia front

I knit the size small but I need the medium at my waist.  So I followed the instructions for the size small at the front edges. But only decreased six stitches at the sides and left the other stitches to give me a bit more room at the waist.  I’ve noticed from my Miette and Chuck that the side decreases are quite steep and so seem suited to a curvy figure. I know from sewing for myself that I have a very straight figure ( ie no waist!!) So I think a straighter side edge suits me better.

 

I used Tivoli Tweed Aran Yarn and 5mm needles.  My gauge was slightly bigger than called for – (pattern asks for 18 st and 24 rows to 4”) I got 17 st to 4”.  So it is a little bigger than it should be , but not enough that it matters.

hort back

 

This is a pattern I can see myself using again – I think a black or dark plum would work really well for next winter.  I want to find a good quality wool to use for it as the selection locally is almost always acrylic blends so any suggestions for a wool that is comfy and holds up to washing & wearing would be appreciated 🙂

11 thoughts on “Completed – Hortencia Cardigan

  1. I had my doubts about this cardigan, mainly because I’m not much of a shawl collar enthusiastic, but yours looks really nice!
    I love the colour!

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

