Drape Drape inspired top

 

I haven’t yet bought any of the Drape Drape books. They’re on my wishlist with a while, but I still haven’t made anything from my Pattern Magic books. So I’m holding off ( for now!!).

Although I really want to buy them after seeing some of the gorgeous pieces cropping up around the internet. Melissa from Fehrtrade has made a draped top version. And so too has Kim over on The Material Lady.
After seeing the pattern piece for the draped tee, which looks something like this :
image

I thought I could improvise a little and make my own pattern.

 

So I folded my fabric (a cotton lycra with lots if stretch) and placed my tee shirt on top like so :

image

And then started to cut…. without thinking to look at my handy diagram!…. So I cut along by the hem of my tee shirt instead of almost at a right angle to the folded fabric edge. Ah well! Not a big deal really, it just means there is less drape at the side seam.

 

I folded back the tee shirt sleeve so that my new top would be elbow length. After cutting it out, I also cut into the front neck to match it to the neckline on my original tee. I then finished the neck with a narrow doubled strip of fabric.

 

I cut some cuffs to finish the sleeve ends and a band slightly less than hip circumference to finish the hem.

wpid-20140224_122956-1.jpg

My drape is on my left as I thought it might annoy me to have it on the right. But after wearing it, I don’t think it matters as the top is really very comfortable !

So all in all , a worthwhile experiment – but it really just makes me want the Drape Drape books all the more !

4 thoughts on “Drape Drape inspired top

  1. Well done! Your top looks great – and I wouldn’t worry about not following your picture as you have a very wearable result from a simple procedure. I always overcomplicate things so it’s good to be reminded it isn’t necessary. I love the fabric too.

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

