My Miette Cardi

Hi there & welcome – I’m Chris and this is where I plan to share the things I make to wear.

I thought I’d start with one of my favourite things from 2013 – my knitted Miette Cardi. It’s a free pattern from Andi Satterlund available through Ravelry.

Image

I’ve pretty much worn this every week since I made it. I made a few changes to the original pattern, I made the sleeves longer and I also knitted the body slightly longer too.  This cardigan is one of the first things I made using the help I found on Ravelry and some wonderful blogs I follow. In fact, I fell in love with it after seeing the version that Karen from Did you make that made – it’s a gorgeous red version

Image

There were a couple of firsts in this project. I had never made a top-down garment (or one that was seamless!) , it makes perfect sense now though. It was so handy to be able to try it on as I was knitting it.  I had never used short rows either, I love how they give shaping to the bust area.It’s one of those patterns that seems to work for so many people.

I do plan to make another one in 2014 , although next I’ll be making a pair of socks!! This is another first for me, it’s one of those things I never got round to making.  I’m joining the KAL ( Knit-a-long!) hosted by Kristin over at her blog K-Line . Kristin has generously provided the pattern that she uses and will be taking everyone through it step by step starting on Dec29th. So if you want to join in just pop over to her blog and follow along 🙂

5 thoughts on “My Miette Cardi

  1. What a gorgeous version of that sweater! The buttons are fantastic. And thanks for the link to the KAL, Chris! Can’t wait to see your progress (which perhaps you’ll document here!)

I love to hear from like-minded knitters/stitchers - Join the conversation here :)

